:: FESTIVALS ::

A whole year for men is said to be a single day for the Gods. Just as six poojas are performed in a day at the sanctum sanctorum, six anointing ceremonies are performed for the principal deity - Lord Nataraja in a year. They are the Marghazhi Thiruvaadhirai (in December - January ) indicating the first pooja , the fourteenth day after the new moon ( chaturdasi) of the month of Masi ( February - March) indicating the second pooja, the Chittirai Thiruvonam ( in April- May), indicating the third pooja or uchi kaalam , the Uthiram of Aani (June- July) also called the Aani Thirumanjanam indicating the evening or the fourth pooja , the chaturdasi of Aavani (August-September) indicating the fifth pooja and the chaturdasi of the month of Puratasi ( October - November) indicating the sixth pooja or Arthajama.

Of these the Marghazhi Thiruvaadhirai ( in December-January) and the Aani Thirumanjanam ( in June-July ) are the most important. These are conducted as the key festivals with the main deity being brought outside the sanctum sanctorum in a procession that included a temple car procession followed by a long anointing ceremony. Several hundreds of thousands of people flock the temple to see the anointing ceremony and the ritualistic dance of the Lord when He is taken back to the sanctum sanctorum. There are references in Umapathy Sivam's 'Kunchithaangristhavam' that the Maasi festival also had the Lord being carried out in procession, however this is not in vogue these days.

THE SIX MAHAABHISHEKAS OF SRI NATARAJARAJA
2/5/2013, Thursday CHITHIRAI ONAM 6.30pm to 10.30pm @ Kanakasabhai
14/7/2013, Sunday AANITHIRUMANJANAM 3.30am to 6.00am @ RAJASABHAI
19/8/2013, Monday AAVANI CHATHURDHASI 6.30pm to 10.30pm @ kanakasabhai
17/10/2013, Thursday PURATTASI CHATHURDHASI 6.30pm to 10.30pm @kanakasabhai
18/12/2013, Wednesday AARDHRAA ABHISHEKAM 3.30am to 6.00am @ RAJASABHAI
13/2/2014, Thursday MAASI CHATHURDHASI 6.30pm to 10.30pm.@kanakasabhai

AANI THIRUMANJANA FESTIVAL SCHEDULE
5/7/2013, Friday DWAJAAROHANAM
6/7/2013, Saturday GOLDEN SOORYAPRABHA
7/7/2013, Sunday SILVER CHANDHRAPRABHA
8/7/2013, Monday SILVER BHOOTHA VAAHANAM
9/7/2013, Tuesday SILVER RISHABHAVAAHANAM(THERUVADAICHAAN)
10/7/2013, Wednesday SILVER GAJA VAAHANAM
11/7/2013, Thursday GOLDEN KAILAASA VAAHANAM
12/7/2013, Friday BHIKSHADANAR ON GOLDEN CAR
13/7/2013, Saturday MAHAA RATHOTHSAVAM OF SRI NATARAJARAJAR
14/7/2013, Sunday AANI THIRUMANJANA MAHAABHISHEKAM 3.30am AANIDHARSANAM 12.00 noon

AARDHRAA DHARSANA FESTIVAL SCHEDULE
9/12/2013 Monday DWAJAAROHANAM
10/12/2013 Tuesday GOLDEN SOORYAPRABHA
11/12/2013 Wednesday SILVER CHANDRAPRABHA
12/12/2013 Thursday BHOOTHA VAAHANAM
13/12/2013 Friday SILVER RISHABHAVAAHANAM(THERUVADAICHAAN)
14/12/2013 Saturday SILVER GAJA VAAHANAM
15/12/2013 Sunday GOLDEN KAILAASA VAAHANAM
16/12/2013 Monday BHIKSHADANAR ON GOLDEN CAR
17/12/2013 Tuesday MAHAA RATHOTHSAVAM OF SRI NATARAJARAJAR
18/12/2013 Wednesday AARDHRAA MAHAABHISHEKAM 3.30am, AARDHRAA DHARSANAM 12.00 noon

OTHER FESTIVALS
12/6/2013 Monday 63 NAAYANMAAR UTHSAVAM
18/10/2013 Friday SRIMOOLANAATHAR MAHAA ANNAABHISHEKAM
21/10/2013 Monday SRI SIVAKAMASUNDHARI UTHSAVAARAMBAM
29/10/2013 Tuesday AMMAN RATHOTHSAVAM
30/10/2013 Wednesday POORACHALANKAI PATTU VAANGAL
31/10/2013 Thursday MAALAI MAATRAL, KANNOONJAL, THIRUKALYANAM
8/11/2013 Friday SOORA SAMHAARAM
9/11/2013 Saturday DEVASENA SUBRAHMANYAR KALYANAM
17/1/2014 Friday PANCHAMOORTHY VEEDHI PURAPPADU, THEERTHAVARI IN SIVAGANGAI, THAANDAVA DHARSANA AARTHI
27/2/2014 Thursday MAHAA SIVA RAATHRI
 


PRADOSHAM 2013
23 April'13 Tuesday
07 May'13 Tuesday
22 May'13 Wednesday
05 June'13 Wednesday
21 June'13 Friday
05 July'13 Friday
20 July'13 Saturday Sani pradhosham
04 Aug'13 Sunday
18 Aug'13 Sunday
02 Sep'13 Monday Soma pradhosham
17 Sep'13 Tuesday
02 Oct'13 Wednesday
16 Oct'13 Wednesday
01 Nov'13 Friday
15Nov'13 Friday
30 Nov'13 Saturday Sani pradhosham
14 Dec'13 Saturday Sani prodhosham
30 Dec'13 Monday Soma pradhosham
13 Jan'14 Monday Soma pradhosham
28 Jan'14 Tuesday
12 Feb'14 Wednesday
27 Feb'14 Thursday
14 Mar'14 Friday
28 Mar'14 Friday
12 April'14 Saturday Sani pradhosham
 

Home | Location | About the Temple | Deekshithar | Chidambara Rahasyam | Architecture | Rituals | Festivals | Temple Calendar | Darshan Time | General Info | Contact